Honorary awards

[l-r Michael Evans, Neil Butters, Rob Appleyard, Andrew Furse, Sarah Bevan, Sally Davis, Sarah Moore, Chris Watt, Vic Pritchard, Brian Simmons, Lisa O’Brien, Paul Myers.]

Between them this group have devoted 211 years of their lives to public service.

In recognition of that, a special ceremony to honour these former Bath & North East Somerset councillors was held at the Guildhall.

They were awarded the title of Honorary Alderman and Alderwoman by the Chair of B&NES, Councillor Sarah Moore.

The title is the highest award that can be given to a councillor in recognition of exceptional service to the council and the people it represents.

Those presented with awards were:

  • Rob Appleyard 16 years Lambridge
  • Sarah Bevan 20 years Peasedown
  • Neil Butters 16 years Bathavon South
  • Sally Davis 24 years Clutton & Farmborough
  • Doug Deacon 16 years Timsbury
  • Michael Evans 12 years Midsomer Norton North
  • Andrew Furse 24 years Kingsmead
  • Paul Myers 12 years Midsomer Norton Redfield
  • Lisa O’Brien 8 years Keynsham South
  • Vic Pritchard 27 years Chew Valley
  • Brian Simmons 16 years Keynsham North
  • Chris Watt 20 years Midsomer Norton Redfield

Councillor Moore said: “I was especially delighted to present these awards as one of my first duties as chair because every single Honorary Alderman and Alderwomen deserve recognition for the many years of dedicated service they have given to the people of Bath and North East Somerset.

“Each one of them has made a positive difference to their own wards and the wider district to help improve people’s lives. It was wonderful to hear their final speeches, their thanks to officers and their encouragement to new councillors. On behalf of the council I’d like to thank them all and congratulate them.”