Bath’s new Mayor elected.

Bathonians got a chance to experience an annual display of civic pride today – Saturday, June 1st, – with the election of the new Mayor in Bath Abbey where Councillor Gerry Curran took office as the 792nd ceremonial head of the city.

Gerry’s partner, Caroline Haworth MBE is Mayoress.  

Councillor Curran was first elected onto the newly created Bath & North East Somerset Council in 1995, as a Liberal Democrat representing Kingsmead Ward.  He was re-elected in Kingsmead in 1999, and subsequently in 2003, 2007 and 2001 to represent Twerton Ward.

  Gerry served as Chair of B&NES Council in 2001/2 and had the honour of welcoming Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II on the occasion of her Golden Jubilee visit in 2002.  He was Deputy Mayor of the City of Bath in 2007/8.  

Cllr Manda Rigby who  becomes Deputy Mayor of Bath.


Councillor Manda Rigby is Deputy Mayor of Bath.  She was elected onto Bath & North East Somerset Council in May 2019 to represent Bathwick Ward, having previously represented Abbey Ward as a Liberal Democrat from 2011-15.